Character.ai Review 2026: In Chapter 11, With Free Roleplay Chat, a $4.99 Lite Plan and a Ban on Teen Chat
Character.ai is where people talk to millions of user-made characters, and in the last year almost everything around that idea changed. Open-ended chat was removed for under-18s in November 2025, multiple family lawsuits were settled in January 2026, a Pennsylvania lawsuit followed in May, on Sep 18, 2026 CEO Karandeep Anand announced he would leave to join Disney as its CTO, and on Oct 12, 2026 the company filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy to run a court-supervised sale. The platform is still running, and the company says that if no bid keeps it going, it will be wound down. On Sep 28 it had launched a (c.ai) lite plan at $4.99 a month. This review checks what is true as of Oct 13, 2026 against Character.ai's own blog, help center and privacy policy, adds what users say in the app stores, on Trustpilot and Hacker News, and handles safety and litigation strictly from primary or reputable sources, with allegations labelled as allegations.

| Ownership | Character Technologies, Inc.; in Chapter 11 since Oct 12, 2026, with a court-supervised sale expected by late Nov or early Dec |
| Free tier | Yes, unlimited messaging, with ads and slow mode at peak load |
| Cheapest paid plan | $4.99/mo (c.ai) lite ($2.49/week option); c.ai+ $9.99/mo |
| Age rule | No open-ended chat for under 18 since Nov 2025 |
| Store ratings | iOS 4.27 (559,657), Google Play 2.2 (2.45M), Trustpilot 1.2 (734, Oct 3) |
Character.ai is still the biggest playground for roleplay and fandom chat, and still free to use without a message cap. It is also a company in Chapter 11 bankruptcy, under legal and safety pressure, and the loudest user complaints are about ads and moderation.
"If you are an adult who wants unlimited, creative roleplay with a huge character catalogue, the free tier works today, but the company is in a court-supervised sale and the platform may be wound down, so stay on free or month-to-month and do not prepay. If you are a parent, a teen, or someone who wants an assistant for facts, this is the wrong tool and the company itself says so."
Here is my honest read. Character.ai is not a general assistant. It is entertainment: talk to a character, create your own, play a book, run a voice call. Free means unlimited messaging with ads and occasional slow mode. Paid means premium chat styles, fewer or no ads, more memory. The surprises are about the company. Open-ended chat for users under 18 was removed in late 2025. The company settled multiple family lawsuits in January 2026 on undisclosed terms. A US state sued it in May 2026 over chatbots that allegedly presented as licensed doctors. On Sep 18 its CEO announced he would leave to join Disney. On Oct 12 the company filed for Chapter 11 to sell itself in court: its own blog says the platform stays up while the sale runs, expected to finish by the end of November or early December 2026, and that if no bid continues operations the platform will be wound down. Variety reports Disney agreed to pay $20 million as the opening bidder for a non-exclusive licence of certain company intellectual property and claims, which is not the same as buying the platform and does not by itself keep it running. I wrote this carefully: lawsuits are allegations unless a court or the company says otherwise. This is an editorial review: Character.ai's blog, help center and privacy policy as of Oct 3, 2026, alongside app-store, Trustpilot and Hacker News data. I did not run a controlled hands-on test.
Chat with characters, build your own, and play stories, books and comics, with memory and voice on top.
Character.ai's sign-up page promises "10M+ Characters". The app, by Character Technologies, Inc., is rated 17+ on the App Store. Its recent blog posts show the product widening from chat into formats: c.ai Books ("classic literature, now playable", Apr 16, 2026), Stories (Nov 25, 2025), Scenes (Oct 16, 2025), Series microdramas, Comics, an "AI-native social feed" (Aug 4, 2025) and Charms, a virtual currency (Dec 18, 2025). Chat itself runs on selectable "chat styles" such as PipSqueak 3 and ShortSqueak (free) and DeepSqueak and LongSqueak (premium).

Swipe sideways to read the full diagram.
Ownership: Character Technologies, Inc. is the operator named in the privacy policy (effective July 1, 2026). Google is named alongside Character.ai in January 2026 settlement coverage (Variety, Oct 13, 2026). I did not verify any funding figure, so none is cited. For general-purpose assistants, see JAVIS's ChatGPT review and Claude review.
A huge entertainment-chat brand with 50M+ Play installs, but sharply divided ratings.
US Play Store page, Oct 13, 2026 (aggregate rating 2.23). Ratings are not users, and downloads are installs.
Apple App Store, US storefront, Oct 13, 2026. The two stores disagree strongly, so read neither as the whole picture.
Trustpilot page as of Oct 3, 2026. 80% of reviews are one star. Reviews are not users.
The first is on the sign-up page, the second on an App Store screenshot. Neither is audited.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2024-10-23 | Lawsuit filed over the death of a 14-year-old Florida boy (an allegation by his mother); company announces new safety features | TechCrunch, Oct 23, 2024 |
| 2025-06-20 | Karandeep Anand named CEO | blog.character.ai |
| 2025-08-04 | AI-native social feed launched | blog.character.ai |
| 2025-09-30 | Disney confirms it sent a cease-and-desist over copyrighted characters; Character.ai says it removed the characters named | CNBC, Sep 30, 2025 |
| 2025-10-29 | Announces end of open-ended chat for users under 18 by Nov 25, new age assurance and an AI Safety Lab | blog.character.ai |
| 2025-12-18 | Charms introduced | blog.character.ai |
| 2026-01 | Multiple family lawsuits settled; terms not disclosed | NPR, May 5, 2026 |
| 2026-05-05 | Pennsylvania sues over chatbots allegedly posing as licensed doctors | NPR, May 5, 2026 |
| 2026-09-03 | Safety update: self-harm detection across long chats, partners, parental insights | blog.character.ai |
| 2026-09-18 | CEO Karandeep Anand announces he is joining Disney as CTO; app stays live | blog.character.ai |
| 2026-09-28 | (c.ai) lite plan, PipSqueak 3 and ShortSqueak launched | blog.character.ai |
| 2026-10-12 | Character.ai files voluntary Chapter 11 for a court-supervised sale; platform stays up, paid billing unchanged for now; Disney is the opening bidder at $20 million for a non-exclusive licence of certain IP and claims, not the platform itself | blog.character.ai; Variety, Oct 13, 2026 |
The honest summary of market position: very large reach and a brand that is among the most contested in AI chat. The 4.27 on iOS versus 2.2 on Google Play is an unusually wide gap, and no source I know of explains it, so I will not guess. For scale on the general assistants, see the ChatGPT and Gemini reviews.
Fans love the characters and creativity. The recurring complaints are ads, moderation, memory and the age checks.
Reviewers wrote about "ads after almost every 5 replies and now they’re throwing the ads in between the messages too" (Sep 2026), that "the AI completely disregards the instructions and starts speaking and acting on user’s behalf" (Sep 2026), that filtering blocks words such as "shooting" in action scenes (Aug 2026), and that the age check is "asking for kids to steal parents’ IDs" (Jul 2026). One wrote "I would’ve had a different opinion three years ago". The split averages to about 1.36, while the displayed score is 1.2 (Trustpilot weights its TrustScore). Billing and moderation complainers are over-represented on review sites.
iOS rates it 4.27 over 559,657 ratings, Google Play 2.2 over 2.45M reviews. Only the aggregate ratings are used. The Play listing carries "Contains ads" and "In-app purchases" labels, which fits the ad and paywall complaints on Trustpilot but does not prove them.
Opinions in comments, not findings: "frankly I also think things like character.ai are potentially really harmful" (Sep 11, 2026); "SillyTavern and the size of like Character.ai at its peak shows pretty obviously that people are doing exactly this" (Jul 1, 2026), on demand for AI companionship; and that early popular characters were reliably "bad boys" of various description (Jul 15, 2026). Volume is modest and skews to debate about AI companions rather than product reviews.
Free with unlimited messaging, then (c.ai) lite from $4.99 a month, then c.ai+ at $9.99 a month.
Free
Unlimited messaging on every plan. PipSqueak 3 and ShortSqueak are free for everyone.
- Banner and interstitial ads
- Slow mode when busy
- 15 memory pins
- Charms earned through quests
(c.ai) lite
Or $2.49 a week; pricing varies by region.
- Daily premium messages on DeepSqueak and LongSqueak
- No banner ads, fewer interstitials
- Less slow mode; app customization
- 30 memory pins and a Memory Usage bar
(c.ai+)
Standard rate per flash-sale terms; $94.99 a year.
- Unlimited premium chats
- Zero ads
- Full memory suite incl. private Lorebooks
- Early access and Charms bonus on packs
Charms
Virtual currency for extra generations, slow-mode boosts and ad skips.
- Earned through check-ins and quests
- Purchase option announced Dec 2025
- Rules "will likely change" (Character.ai)
Swipe sideways to see every column.
| Plan | Price (USD) | What changes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Unlimited messaging; ads; slow mode at peak; 15 memory pins | c.ai+ FAQ, lite FAQ |
| (c.ai) lite | $4.99/mo or $2.49/week | Daily premium chats, fewer ads, more memory, customization | blog.character.ai, Sep 28, 2026 |
| (c.ai+) | $9.99/mo or $94.99/yr | Unlimited premium chats, zero ads, full memory, early access | Flash Sale terms (standard rate) |
| c.ai+ 3-month offer (promo, may have ended) | $14.99 for 3 months, then $9.99/mo | Limited-time promo from the help center | Flash Sale terms, June 2026 |
| c.ai+ annual offer (promo, may have ended) | $59.99 first year, then $94.99/yr | Limited-time promo | Flash Sale terms |
| Cancel / refund | n/a | Cancel via App Store, Google Play or Stripe web; app-store refunds follow Apple or Google policy | (c.ai) lite FAQ |

One detail changes the maths: lite and c.ai+ are sold through app stores or Stripe on the web, and Character.ai's help center says app purchases follow Apple's or Google's refund policy. Open Character.ai
Decide by your age, what you want from a chat, and how much ad friction you will tolerate.
Open-ended chat with Characters is not available to under-18s. They get Stories, Feed, Series and Comics, and parents can use Parental Insights.
The free tier has no message cap. Start there and see whether ads and slow mode bother you.
(c.ai) lite at $4.99 removes banner ads and reduces interstitials; c.ai+ at $9.99 removes ads entirely.
Character.ai says users "should not rely on Characters for any type of professional advice". Use a general assistant such as ChatGPT or Claude.
Character.ai filed for Chapter 11 on Oct 12, 2026 and its blog says the platform will be wound down if no bid continues it. Do not prepay a year or buy stored value during the sale; stay on free, monthly or weekly, and export what you care about.
Memory pins double from 15 to 30 on lite, and c.ai+ has the full memory suite and private Lorebooks.
You pick or build a Character, choose a chat style, and the app handles memory, voice and story formats around it.
The Sep 28 post gives the clearest picture of how chat works today. New chats start on PipSqueak 3, "a big step up for general roleplay"; ShortSqueak is "for quick, casual chats" with "texting energy: short replies, quick banter". Premium styles include DeepSqueak and LongSqueak. Older styles such as PipSqueak 2 and Rawr sit in a Legacy menu. Memory is a headline feature: Character.ai's May 21, 2026 post says Story Memory, Facts and Memory Usage are rolling out, and c.ai+ includes private Lorebooks. Voice calls and image tools sit alongside. I could not test output quality, so I do not rate it; I only describe what the company says.




Character.ai’s own demo of Books, the newest story format covered in this review.
Published on Character.AI's official YouTube channel (@CharacterAIOfficial), linked from character.ai/about. Vendor demo, best case.
Pick a character, set the scene, chat, then manage memory and moderation yourself.
Swipe sideways to read the full diagram.
Three habits matter. First, treat everything a Character says as fiction, which is how the company labels it. Second, keep personal or sensitive details out of chats: the privacy policy tells users not to include sensitive personal information in interactions. Third, use blocking and reporting tools, which Character.ai says now work both ways between users.
There is no "automation" here, but the format layer is where the product is growing.
Character.ai does not sell scheduled agents or browser automation, so this section is about its creative formats instead. Books turns "classic literature" into playable stories. Stories, Scenes and Series let users make and share structured adventures and microdramas. Comics and Imagine gallery use the company's own image models, which a Sep 16, 2026 post says were post-trained so "the same Character" stays "recognizable through every style, scene, and page". For under-18 users, these formats are the replacement for open-ended chat. A Sep 18 post names "Books, studio-made microdramas in Series, and story-transforming Comics" as the company's entertainment focus.

Character.ai’s own walkthrough of Lorebooks, the memory feature that c.ai+ unlocks privately.
Published on Character.AI's official YouTube channel (@CharacterAIOfficial), linked from character.ai/about. Vendor demo.
There are no third-party integrations or MCP: Character.ai is a closed entertainment app.
| Surface | What it does | Status as read |
|---|---|---|
| Web, iOS, Android | Same account across devices; subscriptions bought in app stores or via Stripe on web | Help center |
| Voice calls | Real-time voice with a Character | App Store screenshot, vendor claim |
| Images and video formats | Imagine gallery, Comics, own image models | Blog, Sep 2026 |
| Parental Insights | Weekly email for parents whose email is linked to a teen account; built with k-ID | Blog, Sep 3, 2026 |
| Third-party tools / MCP / API | I found no public API, connector directory or MCP statement for the consumer app | Not found; absence is not proof none exists |
If MCP or API access matters to you, Character.ai is the wrong product; JAVIS's Claude MCP and Connectors guide covers a tool built for that.
You are paying to remove friction, not for tokens: ads, slow mode and daily premium messages are the meter.
| What you are doing | What you pay / hit |
|---|---|
| Free chat | Unlimited messaging; banner and interstitial ads; slow mode when busy |
| (c.ai) lite | $4.99/mo or $2.49/week: a daily amount of premium messages; when used, chat switches back to PipSqueak 3; fewer ads |
| (c.ai+) | $9.99/mo or $94.99/yr: unlimited premium chats, zero ads, full memory suite |
| our calculation: lite vs weekly | $4.99 a month is about $1.15 a week, versus $2.49 a week on the weekly option, so weekly costs about 2.2 times as much per week |
| our calculation: c.ai+ annual vs monthly | $94.99 a year is about $7.92 a month, versus $9.99 monthly, a saving of about 21 percent |
| Extras | Charms for extra image generations, slow-mode boosts and ad skips |
| Developer API | No public API found for the consumer app |
My practical read: the free tier is the real product, and lite is priced like a coffee. The weekly option is the trap: it costs more than twice the monthly rate per week, which is worth knowing before you tap it. Run the free tier for a week, count the ads you actually hit, and only then decide.
The safety story is a major part of this product: teen chat removed, safeguards expanded, and legal claims that are allegations, not findings.
| Topic | What the source says |
|---|---|
| Under-18 chat | Character.ai (Oct 29, 2025): removing "the ability for users under 18 to engage in open-ended chat with AI", effective no later than Nov 25, 2025; interim two-hour daily limit |
| Age assurance | In-house age model plus third-party tools including Persona; Sep 3, 2026 post calls it "one of the most important systems we operate" |
| Minimum age | Terms prohibit use by anyone under 13, or under 16 in the EEA and UK (privacy policy, effective Jul 1, 2026); App Store rating 17+ |
| Self-harm response | Safeguards "consider the surrounding conversation" over long chats and point to partners Koko and ThroughLine (blog, Sep 3, 2026) |
| Partners | ConnectSafely, Internet Watch Foundation, StopNCII, k-ID (blog, Sep 3, 2026); funding of an independent AI Safety Lab announced Oct 2025 |
| Fiction labelling | Company says each chat has "prominent disclaimers" that a Character is not a real person (spokesperson to NPR, May 2026) |
| Data use | Privacy policy (Jul 1, 2026): information is used to "train our artificial intelligence/machine learning models" and to provide "tailored advertising"; users are told not to include sensitive personal information |
| Allegation: wrongful-death suit (2024) | Reported by TechCrunch (citing The New York Times): a mother alleged her 14-year-old son’s death followed an obsessive attachment to a chatbot; filed Oct 2024 |
| Outcome: settlements (Jan 2026) | NPR: Character.ai "settled multiple lawsuits brought by families who claimed Character.AI contributed to suicides and mental health crises among children and teenagers"; terms not disclosed. Variety, Oct 13, 2026: the company settled multiple lawsuits in January |
| Allegation: Pennsylvania suit (May 5, 2026) | NPR: the state alleges chatbots claimed to be licensed medical professionals; one bot named "Emilie" allegedly claimed to be a psychiatrist and gave a fake license number. Company: Characters are fictional, disclaimers in every chat; it does not comment on pending litigation |
| IP: Disney cease-and-desist (Sep 2025) | CNBC: Disney sent a letter over copyrighted characters; Character.ai says it removed the characters named |
Swipe sideways to read the full diagram.

How I read this: the company has made big and costly changes, and its own posts say so, but the legal record is not closed and I am not in a position to judge any claim. Parents should note that Character.ai is rated 17+ and that the age check is an estimate, not a guarantee; the Sep 3 post itself says it is "constantly working to improve our accuracy". If a teen in your life is using chat apps, tools outside this product, such as device-level controls, matter more than any single company's policy.
Best for adults who want creative roleplay and fandom stories, not for minors or for fact-finding.
| Situation | Why Character.ai fits | Likely plan |
|---|---|---|
| Adult roleplayer or fan-fiction writer | Huge catalogue, unlimited messaging, memory and Lorebooks | Free, then lite |
| Creator building Characters and stories | Create tools, Books, Stories, Scenes and Comics formats | c.ai+ |
| Ad-averse regular user | Lite removes banners and reduces interstitials; c.ai+ removes ads | lite or c.ai+ |
| Reader who likes classic literature | Books lets you play inside a novel | Free to try |
| Parent of a teen | Chat is not available under 18; Parental Insights exist; consider other supervision | Not a fit for open chat |
| Someone who needs facts or professional advice | Company says Characters are fiction, not professional advice | Use a general assistant instead |
Seven real gaps, not manufactured ones.
Settled family suits, a pending Pennsylvania suit and regulator attention mean the product and its rules may keep changing. These are allegations and settlements, not findings.
Character.ai filed for Chapter 11 on Oct 12, 2026. The sale is expected to finish by late November or early December 2026, and the company says the platform will be wound down if no bid continues it. Paid plans and billing are unchanged for now, and it says it intends to notify subscribers in advance if paid features are affected.
Trustpilot reviewers complain of frequent ads; Play lists "Contains ads". Lite reduces them; only c.ai+ removes them fully.
The company says it "may be conservative" and "content is actioned that a user believes is fine". Appeals and notifications are new.
The company says it works so adults face "fewer disruptions", which implies adults are sometimes misclassified. Reviewers also dislike ID-based verification.
iOS 4.27, Google Play 2.2, Trustpilot 1.2. No source I know of explains the gap, so I will not guess.
The standard c.ai+ price is confirmed only through June 2026 flash-sale terms; lite pricing varies by region; weekly is poor value.
Also: the product is closed (no API or MCP), memory is a paid-tier strength.
Character.ai is best for roleplay and fandom. For facts, work or writing help, use a general assistant.
| If you mostly need... | Compare Character.ai with... |
|---|---|
| A general assistant for answers and work | ChatGPT review (live JAVIS review) |
| Careful long-form writing help | Claude review |
| A free assistant with Google integration | Gemini review |
| An assistant with a more playful, social personality | Grok review |
| An assistant inside Microsoft apps | Copilot review |
| A free chat app with open weights behind it | DeepSeek review |
Swipe sideways to see every column.
| Entry paid point (verified Oct 3, 2026) | Character.ai | ChatGPT (per JAVIS review) | Gemini (per JAVIS review) | Grok (per JAVIS review) | Copilot (per JAVIS review) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cheapest paid plan | (c.ai) lite $4.99/mo; c.ai+ $9.99/mo | Go $8; Plus $20 | AI Plus $4.99; AI Pro $19.99 | SuperGrok Lite $10 | Microsoft 365 Personal $9.99 |
| Free option | Yes, unlimited messages with ads | Free (with ads per review) | Free | Free | Free app |
| What you pay for | Fewer ads, premium chat styles, memory | Usage and model access | Usage and storage | Usage tiers | Microsoft 365 plans |
No affiliate relationship shapes this review.
JAVIS has not established a publisher affiliate program with Character.ai. Every call to action in this article points to the official product. If that changes, the review's facts, limitations and alternatives will not.
Go to the official page.
Open Character.aiRead the alternative that matches your real question.
Choose the next articleCharacter.ai is entertainment first. These reviews cover the assistants for everything else.
Each card below opens a JAVIS review.
Questions people are actually searching right now
Is Character.ai free?
Yes. Unlimited messaging stays free on every tier, according to the company’s Sep 28, 2026 post. The free plan has ads and can be slowed when busy. Paid plans are (c.ai) lite from $4.99 a month and c.ai+ at $9.99 a month, verified Oct 3, 2026.
How much does Character.ai cost?
(c.ai) lite is $4.99 a month or $2.49 a week, varying by region. c.ai+ is $9.99 a month or $94.99 a year at its standard rate per the help center’s flash-sale terms. Confirm in the app.
Can under-18s chat with Characters?
No. The company removed open-ended chat for users under 18, effective no later than Nov 25, 2025. Under-18 users have formats such as Stories, Feed, Series and Comics, and parents can use Parental Insights.
Has Character.ai been sued?
Yes. A wrongful-death suit was reported in Oct 2024 (an allegation by the boy’s mother). Multiple family lawsuits were settled in Jan 2026 on undisclosed terms. Pennsylvania sued in May 2026 alleging chatbots posed as licensed doctors; the company says Characters are fictional and does not comment on pending litigation.
Who runs Character.ai now?
The operator is Character Technologies, Inc. CEO Karandeep Anand announced on Sep 18, 2026 that he would join Disney as CTO. On Oct 12, 2026 the company, with Colin Adams quoted as CEO in Variety, filed for Chapter 11 to run a court-supervised sale.
What happens to my account, chats and subscription?
The company says your information remains protected under its privacy policy, and that you can delete your account or export your data through the app or the website. Subscriptions remain active and billing is unchanged for now, and it intends to notify subscribers in advance if paid features are affected. This review found no statement on refunds. Subscriptions bought through Apple or Google can be cancelled in those stores.
Is Character.ai shutting down?
Not yet. The company says the platform remains up and all services are available at this time. It hopes the sale produces a bid that continues the platform, and says that if no such bid is available the platform will be wound down. It expects the sale to complete by the end of November or perhaps early December 2026. Subscriptions remain active and billing is unchanged for now.
Is Character.ai safe?
It is entertainment, rated 17+ on iOS, and the company has expanded safeguards, but legal claims and ratings disputes remain. Treat output as fiction, avoid sharing sensitive details, and see the safety section.
Does Character.ai train on my chats?
The privacy policy (effective Jul 1, 2026) says information is used to evaluate and improve services, "including to train our artificial intelligence/machine learning models", and for tailored advertising. Read the policy and regional disclosures for your options.
What are the best Character.ai alternatives?
For general use, ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini. JAVIS has no like-for-like roleplay review yet. See the alternatives table.
Where this came from, and when it was checked.
Pricing and plans: blog.character.ai (Sep 28, 2026); support.character.ai (c.ai) lite FAQ, c.ai+ FAQ and c.ai+ Summer Flash Sale terms.
Product: character.ai sign-up page, blog.character.ai posts (Sep 3, Sep 16, Sep 18, Sep 28, 2026; Dec 18, 2025; Oct 29, 2025), App Store listing text.
Safety and litigation: Character.ai blog; character.ai/privacy (effective Jul 1, 2026); NPR (May 5, 2026); TechCrunch (Oct 23, 2024); CNBC (Sep 30, 2025); Variety (Oct 13, 2026) on the January 2026 settlements and the Chapter 11 filing. Allegations are labelled as such; litigation facts come from news reports, not court filings.
Market: Apple App Store, US storefront (4.27, 559,657 ratings, 17+, Oct 13, 2026); Google Play US storefront (2.23, 2.45M ratings, 50M+ downloads, Oct 13, 2026); vendor claims flagged as such.
Real users: Trustpilot character.ai (1.2, 734 reviews, split 2/2/6/10/80 percent for 5 to 1 stars, computed average about 1.36); Hacker News comments (2026).
Alternatives and prices: the JAVIS review of each tool.
Official videos: youtube.com/watch?v=HL-P_pidv2I and NTQ1bM44vmk, all from the official channel.
Chapter 11: Character.ai blog, "An update on Character.ai" (Oct 12, 2026), for the filing, the sale timeline, the wind-down condition and unchanged billing; Variety (Oct 13, 2026) for the $20 million opening bid, the licence and the CEO statement.
Research method: facts come from official pages, help centers, docs and app-store pages, each dated above.
JAVIS Fit Score (45/100): editorial composite, not a benchmark: free-tier generosity and low paid prices (strong), creative formats and memory (good), clarity of plans (mixed), ads and moderation friction (weak), ratings and sentiment (weak), insolvency and sale risk, plus legal exposure (weak), limits of use to adults and entertainment (neutral, by design). Weighted by judgement; no hands-on test was run.





