Fireflies.ai Review 2026: $10 Seats, a Credit Meter for the AI, and Two Voiceprint Lawsuits to Understand Before You Invite Fred
Fireflies is the notetaker that tries to win on breadth for the money: 100+ languages, unlimited transcription on paid plans, a bot-free Chrome extension and an MCP server for Claude and ChatGPT. This review checks what is true today against Fireflies' own pricing page and help guides: Pro is $10 a seat on annual billing, the smart features run on AI credits, and Fireflies Talk, a free dictation tool, launched on Sept 30. Then it adds what real users say and where the lawsuits actually stand.

| Ownership | Independent private company |
| Free tier | Real -- limited summaries, 20 credits |
| Cheapest paid plan | $10/mo (Pro, annual) |
| Companies (Fireflies-stated) | 1 million+ |
| Trustpilot record | 4.5/5, 834 reviews |
The best-priced mainstream AI notetaker on paper, with the widest language and integration coverage. The catches are the credit meter, the free-plan small print and a consent question.
"Fireflies' real edge is breadth for the money: $10 a seat on annual billing gets unlimited transcription and summaries, 100+ languages, a bot or a bot-free Chrome extension, and an MCP server for Claude, ChatGPT and Cursor. What it holds back is metered: AI credits for the clever features, storage minutes, and an asterisk on the Free plan's 'unlimited'. And like every notetaker that records people who never signed up, it has been sued under Illinois' biometric law."
My honest read: for sales and operations teams that want meetings turned into CRM updates and searchable memory, Fireflies is the value pick, and Pro is the plan to price first. If you only need a transcript, the Free plan is fine for light use. If you work with Illinois participants or sensitive conversations, read the Security section before you turn on auto-join. This is a VERIFIED EDITORIAL REVIEW: Fireflies' pricing page, help guides, docs, security page, blog and YouTube channel checked on Oct 3, 2026, plus court dockets and published user sentiment. I did not run a controlled hands-on test.
One product that started as a meeting bot and is now trying to be a work assistant.
Fireflies records and transcribes meetings across Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams and other conferencing tools, then writes summaries and action items. Around that core sits AskFred, an assistant that answers questions about your meetings, a growing set of AI apps (Personal Assistant, Email Assistant, Voice Agents), and, as of Sept 30, 2026, Fireflies Talk, a free dictation tool that works anywhere you type. The company describes itself as "the #1 AI assistant for your meetings"; that is a homepage claim I cannot verify, so I treat it as marketing.

Ownership: Fireflies.AI Corp. is private and, per its own June 2025 announcement, has not raised primary capital since 2021. I found no acquisition. That matters because a neighbouring notetaker, Fathom, was bought by Superhuman on Sept 14, 2026.
A profitable-by-its-own-account challenger with big-company logos, in a category that is consolidating.
fireflies.ai homepage and pricing page, Oct 3, 2026. Does not say how many are active or paying.
Fireflies' June 12, 2025 valuation post. An older, differently worded figure than the homepage's.
After its first tender offer, per Fireflies. Not a funding round; no primary capital raised since 2021.
Fireflies' own claim in the same post; no financials published.
| Date | Event | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2025-06-12 | Fireflies announces a valuation above $1B after its first tender offer | fireflies.ai blog |
| 2025-12-18 | Cruz v. Fireflies.AI Corp filed (BIPA voiceprint class action), C.D. Illinois | PacerMonitor docket |
| 2026-03-10 | Fricker v. Fireflies.AI Corp filed, N.D. Illinois (BIPA); a related Martinez case is referenced | PacerMonitor, CourtListener listing |
| 2026-03-11 | Cruz voluntarily dismissed without prejudice before Fireflies answered | PacerMonitor docket |
| 2026-09-14 | Superhuman announces it has acquired rival notetaker Fathom | TechCrunch and others |
| 2026-09-30 | Fireflies Talk launches: free voice dictation on Mac and Windows, 100+ languages | CXOToday / launch coverage |

Mostly happy, and happier than Otter's Trustpilot crowd. The pain points are lost recordings, human support and speaker attribution.
4.5 out of 5; 81% five-star, 13% one-star. Praise (Sept 2026 reviews): "the quality of the transcripts are excellent", "easy to use, highly accurate summaries and transcripts", recording from online meetings or a phone. Complaints: some meetings skipped or lost, support reached through a chatbot, and "inaccurate in terms of who said what".
Says Fireflies announces itself on calls, rates the Fred assistant "one of the best AI assistants I've used", and benchmarks accuracy around 91% against its own 97%+. Some of its other points (video recording tiers, no automatic language detection) look dated against today's pricing page, so I do not rely on them.
One commenter wrote that they had just cancelled their Fireflies subscription because it "just felt unnecessary" and preferred fewer platforms. A single data point on churn, not a pattern; I found no larger HN thread about Fireflies pricing in the last year.
Free, Pro, Business, Enterprise, plus a separate credit meter for the AI.
Free
Unlimited transcription (asterisked), limited AI summaries.
- 100+ languages, real-time notes
- 400 minutes of storage (page says per team)
- 20 AI credits
- AskFred limited; API access
Pro
$18 billed monthly.
- Unlimited transcription and AI summaries
- Video recording and downloads
- 8,000 minutes of storage per seat; 20 AI credits
- Personal and Email Assistants, Voice Agents, AI Skills
Business
$29 billed monthly.
- Unlimited storage; 30 AI credits
- Conversation intelligence, team analytics
- Multi-language mode, user groups
- Public meeting access
Enterprise
Annual billing only; contact sales.
- 50 AI credits; rules engine
- SSO, SCIM, audit logs (API)
- HIPAA, private storage, custom retention
- Dedicated account manager
| Plan | Annual billing | Monthly billing | Storage | AI credits included | Highlights |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | $0 | 400 min (team, per page) | 20 | Limited summaries; Chrome extension; mobile and desktop apps |
| Pro | $10 / seat / mo | $18 / seat / mo | 8,000 min / seat | 20 | Unlimited summaries; video; unlimited integrations |
| Business | $19 / seat / mo | $29 / seat / mo | Unlimited | 30 | Conversation intelligence; team analytics; multi-language mode |
| Enterprise | $39 / seat / mo | Annual only | Unlimited | 50 | Rules engine; SSO and SCIM; HIPAA; private storage |
| Extra AI credits | Packs from 50 to 10,000 credits a month; annual billing is 20% cheaper than monthly | Paid plans only, per Fireflies help guide |
Arithmetic you can check: a 10-seat team on Business annual is 10 x $19 = $190 a month; the same team on monthly billing is 10 x $29 = $290. Credits come on top once the included 30 per seat run out.
Pick by language, storage, AI use and who has to approve it.
Free: transcription plus limited summaries and 20 AI credits. Read the asterisk on "unlimited".
Pro at $10 annual, and count how many AskFred and AI Skills actions you will use against 20 credits.
Business: unlimited storage, conversation intelligence, team analytics.
Fireflies lists 100+ transcription languages with auto-detection; Business adds multi-language mode.
Use the Fireflies MCP server at api.fireflies.ai/mcp.
Read the Security section; use the bot-free Chrome extension or meeting rules and tell people.
Capture is cheap and unlimited. The AI you actually enjoy is metered in credits.
The core is Fred, the notetaker that joins your meetings, plus the layer of AI on top. Fireflies transcribes in 100+ languages, labels speakers, produces overviews, detailed notes and action items, and indexes everything so you can search across meetings. AskFred is the assistant you question about a meeting or across meetings; it, AI Skills, custom summaries and Magic Soundbites draw down AI credits. Standard transcription, notes and recap emails do not.
That credit design is the thing to understand. Pro is "unlimited transcription, unlimited AI summaries", but 20 credits a month go quickly if your team runs AI Skills after every call. Fireflies sells packs from 50 up to 10,000 credits a month, billed monthly or annually (annual is 20% cheaper), and you need a paid plan to buy them.

| What you do | Costs AI credits? | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Transcribe a meeting; summary, notes, recap email | No | guide.fireflies.ai AI credits articles |
| AskFred questions | Yes | guide.fireflies.ai |
| AI Skills, custom summaries | Yes | guide.fireflies.ai |
| Magic Soundbites (clips) | Yes | guide.fireflies.ai |
| Voice Agents and some automated assistants | Reported to; check in-app | Third-party summaries; not stated on the pages I read |
| Uploading a file on Free (up to 100 MB, 150 minutes) | 1 credit per file | guide.fireflies.ai Free-plan article |
- Unlimited transcription and summaries on paid plans, with a Chrome extension that records Google Meet without a bot.
- 100+ languages with auto-detection, the broadest list among the three tools compared here.
- A rules engine and meeting rules to control when the bot joins (Enterprise and below, check your plan).
- Credit burn: 20 on Pro, 30 on Business, 50 on Enterprise before you buy packs.
- Free-plan asterisks: "unlimited" transcription with limited summaries and 400 minutes of storage.
- The "95% accurate" homepage claim is Fireflies' own; an outside tester put it near 91%.
Let the bot capture, review who said what, then automate the follow-through.

Two controls matter for the workflow. Meeting rules decide when Fred joins (for example only meetings with external guests), and the Chrome extension records Google Meet without sending a bot at all, per the pricing matrix. Both are a better default than "join everything", which is how people end up with a bot in a one-to-one with their boss.
Fireflies' own walkthrough of meeting rules, the setting that most affects consent and noise. It backs the Workflow section above.
Published by the official "Fireflies AI" YouTube channel. A vendor tutorial, so it shows intended behaviour.
Fireflies is moving from notes to actions: skills, assistants, voice agents and a dictation tool.
This is the AI-first side of Fireflies and the least proven. AI Skills run analysis after calls, the Email Assistant drafts and organises your inbox, and Voice Agents handle repetitive phone-style conversations. Fireflies Talk, launched Sept 30, 2026, is a different bet: voice dictation that is free and unlimited on every plan, with the company's CEO quoted saying it is easier to say what you mean than to type it. I would treat all of these as a roadmap to try on Free and Pro, not as reasons to choose the product.
| Surface | What Fireflies says it does | Plan |
|---|---|---|
| Fred (notetaker bot) | Joins and records meetings; can be customised with its own name (pricing FAQ) | All plans |
| Rules engine | Automates workspace behaviour from rules (product video: "put your workspace on autopilot") | Enterprise per pricing page |
| AI Skills | Automated analysis of meetings; "200+ AI Skills" on the homepage | Pro and up |
| Voice Agents | Agents that handle repetitive calls | Pro and up |
| Personal and Email Assistants | Daily briefs and drafted email | Pro and up |
| Fireflies Talk | Free dictation anywhere you type, Mac and Windows; iOS coming soon | Free, all plans |

- Sales ops that want CRM fields updated from the call.
- Anyone who dictates a lot: Talk is free.
- Agents and assistants consume credits.
- Anything that writes to a CRM or sends email needs a review step first.
A big integration list and an MCP server that Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and Devin can use.
Fireflies' pricing page lists unlimited integrations on Pro and above and API access on every plan, including Free. The homepage shows CRMs, project-management tools, an ATS and Slack. For AI assistants, the docs describe an MCP server at https://api.fireflies.ai/mcp, OAuth-authenticated, speaking Streamable HTTP only, with setup for Claude, the OpenAI connector, Cursor and Devin. The docs I read did not state plan requirements or rate limits for MCP.

| Integration | What it does | Plan / limit |
|---|---|---|
| MCP server (api.fireflies.ai/mcp) | Claude, OpenAI connector, Cursor and Devin query transcripts, summaries and action items | Plan requirement not stated in docs I read |
| API access | Programmatic access to your meeting data | Listed on all plans, with rate limits on paid tiers |
| CRMs, Slack, project tools, ATS | Sync notes and tasks | Unlimited integrations on Pro and up |
| Zoom, Google Meet, Teams and others | Auto-join and recording | All plans |
| Chrome extension | Record Google Meet without a bot | Pricing matrix shows it on the tiers |
| Upload limits | Paid plans: 3,000 minutes a month per user per source, $0.01 per extra minute | Fireflies help guide (transcription credits article) |
If you want the idea of MCP explained before you wire it up, read JAVIS's Claude MCP and Connectors guide. For pushing meeting data into other tools, the Zapier review and n8n review cover the options.
Fireflies' own demo of its new dictation tool, the most recent launch in this review.
Published by the official "Fireflies AI" YouTube channel.
Think in seats, credits and storage minutes.
| What you are doing | What you pay / hit |
|---|---|
| Light personal use | $0 on Free; 20 credits, limited summaries, 400 storage minutes |
| One person, Pro annual | $10 a month; 20 AI credits included, 8,000 storage minutes |
| 10-seat team on Business, annual | 10 x $19 = $190 a month; monthly billing $290 |
| Heavy AskFred or AI Skills user | Buy credit packs (50 to 10,000 a month); exact pack prices not read from an official page |
| Uploading lots of recordings on a paid plan | 3,000 minutes a month per user per source, then $0.01 a minute |
| Compliance rollout (HIPAA, SSO, audit logs) | Enterprise at $39 per seat per month, annual only |
Good compliance claims, strong Enterprise controls, and two voiceprint lawsuits to understand.
| Control | What Fireflies says |
|---|---|
| Compliance | SOC 2 Type II, GDPR; HIPAA is listed with Enterprise on the pricing page |
| Encryption | 256-bit AES for notes and transcripts at rest; TLS in transit |
| Model training | "We don't train on it by default"; the site also states customer data is not used for AI training and cites a 0-day retention policy with vendors |
| Enterprise controls | SSO, SCIM, audit logs (API), private storage, custom data retention, transcript and summary only mode, super admin role |
| Consent tools | Customisable bot name, meeting rules, a Chrome extension without a bot |
| Case | Allegation | Status as I could verify |
|---|---|---|
| Cruz v. Fireflies.AI Corp, 3:25-cv-03399 (C.D. Ill.) | Speaker recognition builds voiceprints without BIPA notice, retention policy or written consent | Filed Dec 18, 2025; plaintiff voluntarily dismissed without prejudice, order Mar 11, 2026; Fireflies had not answered |
| Fricker v. Fireflies.AI Corp, 1:26-cv-02675 (N.D. Ill.) | Same type of BIPA claims | Filed Mar 10, 2026; a related case (Martinez) referenced; the docket page I could read showed only filing entries, so current status unconfirmed |
I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice. The cases are about speaker recognition and people who never signed up, which applies to any notetaker that labels who is speaking, Otter included. The responsible default is the same everywhere: disclose, get consent where required, and keep bots off sensitive calls.
Fireflies' own explanation of its admin and retention controls, next to the security tables.
Published by the official "Fireflies AI" YouTube channel.
Best for sales and ops teams that want cheap seats, many languages and CRM-friendly notes.
| Situation | Why Fireflies fits | Likely plan |
|---|---|---|
| Freelancer or founder with calls every day | Low seat price, unlimited transcription on paid plans | Free, then Pro |
| Sales team that lives in a CRM | CRM integrations, conversation intelligence, analytics | Business |
| Multilingual team | 100+ languages with auto-detection; multi-language mode on Business | Pro or Business |
| Anyone who wants Claude or ChatGPT to read meetings | MCP server with OAuth | Pro or Business (check) |
| Regulated company | SOC 2 Type II, HIPAA, SSO, SCIM, audit logs, private storage | Enterprise |
| Someone who just needs occasional notes and zero AI add-ons | Free is enough; do not buy credits | Free |
| Illinois-heavy or sensitive-conversation work | Consent risk; use the extension or skip a bot | Review with counsel |
Five real gaps, not manufactured ones.
20 credits on Free and Pro, 30 on Business, 50 on Enterprise, then paid packs. The help guide does not publish a per-action price list.
"Unlimited transcription*" sits beside limited summaries, 400 minutes of storage, and a help article that describes storage differently from the pricing page.
Trustpilot reviewers describe meetings skipped or lost and support handled through a chatbot. For a recorder, a lost meeting is the worst failure.
Two BIPA suits in 2025 and 2026 target speaker recognition. One was dismissed without prejudice, one appears pending. Allegations, not findings.
Fifth gap, smaller: accuracy is a vendor claim. Fireflies says 95% on its homepage; one rival-run test said about 91%. I did not measure it.
Fireflies is the value and breadth option. Others win on polish, free tiers or editing.
| If you mostly need... | Compare Fireflies with... |
|---|---|
| A familiar notetaker with live transcription and a clear free tier | Otter.ai (Pro $8.33 annual) |
| To edit the recording as text and publish it | Descript (an editor, not a meeting notetaker) |
| A general assistant that can summarise and reason over transcripts | ChatGPT review, Claude review |
| Routing meeting data to other apps | Zapier, n8n |
| Speech to text via API | ElevenLabs review |
| Free notetaker from an independent vendor, or your meeting app's own | Fathom (acquired by Superhuman, Sept 14, 2026), Gemini notes in Google Meet, Zoom and Teams built-ins: not researched by JAVIS for this review |
| Entry point (verified Oct 3, 2026) | Fireflies.ai | Otter | Descript (editor) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Unlimited transcription*, limited summaries, 20 AI credits | 300 min / mo, 30 min per conversation | 60 media minutes / mo, 100 AI credits one-time |
| Cheapest paid, annual | $10 / seat / mo (Pro) | $8.33 / user / mo (Pro) | $16 / mo (Hobbyist) |
| Cheapest paid, monthly | $18 / seat / mo | $16.99 / user / mo | $24 / mo |
| Unit that runs out | AI credits, storage minutes | Transcription minutes, AI Chat queries | Media minutes, AI credits |
Some links on this page are affiliate links.
Some links to Fireflies.ai on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them, JAVIS may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not affect the score, the limitations we list or the alternatives we recommend; the review was written and scored before the link was added.
Go to the official page.
Open Fireflies.aiRead the alternative that matches your real question.
Choose the next articleFireflies sits between the meeting recorder and the AI assistant that remembers.
Every card below links to a published JAVIS review.
Card images are official assets from each product's own site or the target JAVIS page.
Questions people are actually searching right now
How much does Fireflies.ai cost in October 2026?
Free is $0. Pro is $10 per seat per month billed annually ($18 monthly), Business is $19 annually ($29 monthly) and Enterprise is $39 per seat per month, annual only. Verified on fireflies.ai/pricing, Oct 3, 2026.
Is Fireflies.ai free?
Yes, with limits: unlimited transcription (asterisked), limited AI summaries, 400 minutes of storage and 20 AI credits. Downloading transcripts needs a paid plan.
What are Fireflies AI credits?
Tokens used for AskFred, AI Skills, custom summaries, Magic Soundbites and similar. Plans include 20 (Free, Pro), 30 (Business) or 50 (Enterprise); packs run from 50 to 10,000 a month on paid plans.
Does Fireflies work with Claude and ChatGPT?
Yes. Its MCP server at api.fireflies.ai/mcp uses OAuth and supports Claude, the OpenAI connector, Cursor and Devin per its docs.
Is there a lawsuit against Fireflies.ai?
Two Illinois BIPA class actions have been filed over speaker recognition. Cruz (C.D. Ill.) was voluntarily dismissed without prejudice on Mar 11, 2026; Fricker (N.D. Ill., filed Mar 10, 2026) appeared pending on the docket I could read. These are allegations.
How many languages does Fireflies support?
Its pricing page and homepage say 100+ transcription languages with auto-language detection; Business adds a multi-language mode.
Is Fireflies safe for company data?
Fireflies states SOC 2 Type II, GDPR, HIPAA (Enterprise), AES-256 at rest and no training on customer data by default. Suitability depends on your consent and retention rules.
What is Fireflies Talk?
A free voice-dictation tool for Mac and Windows launched Sept 30, 2026 on all plans, with 100+ languages; iOS is listed as coming soon.
Where this came from, and when it was checked.
Pricing and plans: fireflies.ai/pricing (page text), guide.fireflies.ai articles on AI credits, transcription credits and the Free plan. Read Oct 3, 2026.
Product and launches: fireflies.ai homepage, docs.fireflies.ai MCP page, fireflies.ai/security, fireflies.ai blog, CXOToday coverage of Fireflies Talk (Sept 30, 2026).
Market: Fireflies' June 12, 2025 valuation post (over $1B, 20M people, 500,000+ organisations) and the homepage's 1 million+ companies; Superhuman-Fathom deal from TechCrunch (Sept 14, 2026). All Fireflies figures are company-stated.
Legal: PacerMonitor dockets for Cruz (3:25-cv-03399) and Fricker (1:26-cv-02675); law-firm and news summaries. I could not open CourtListener or Justia pages.
Real users: Trustpilot (4.5/5, 834 reviews) read directly; tl;dv review (competitor, labelled); one Hacker News comment. G2 (~4.7) and Capterra (~4.9) are search-aggregated. Reddit not readable.
Official videos: youtube.com/watch?v=Vn_ucFbH0n8, LUuAVH5_zb4 and 6pdMTxBVRNA; author "Fireflies AI" on YouTube.
JAVIS Fit Score (80/100): editorial composite of value per seat, language and integration breadth, MCP and API access, security controls (strong), credit-meter friction, free-plan clarity, support and recording reliability sentiment, and consent and legal risk (weaker). Not a benchmark; no automated test was run.






