Suno Review 2026: v6 Ships With Warner & BMG Deals -- While a New $9B Lawsuit and a 2025 Data Breach Complicate the Story
Suno turns a text prompt into a full song -- vocals, instruments, structure -- in under a minute, and by its own count more than 100 million people have used it to do exactly that. In 2026 the company has genuinely tried to fix its original sin: it settled with Warner Music Group, signed BMG, partnered with Believe/TuneCore, and on September 9 shipped v6, a model line it says was "developed with" those label partners. What most people checking Suno right now don't yet know: on roughly September 18, 2026, Universal Music Group and Sony Music filed a second, ~$9 billion lawsuit accusing v6 of "model laundering" -- training on outputs tainted by the same unlicensed audio as earlier models. And in July 2026, reporting revealed Suno sat on a November 2025 breach for eight months, one that exposed 55+ million users' personal data and leaked source code showing exactly what it had scraped: YouTube Music, Deezer, Genius, and podcast feeds. This review covers verified Free/Pro/Premier pricing, what v6 actually does, and all of it -- the licensing wins and the legal exposure -- in one place.
| Core tech (v6 + Studio) | Fast-moving, genuinely capable |
| Free tier | Real -- 50 credits/day, no commercial rights |
| Cheapest paid plan | $8/mo (Pro, billed annually; $10/mo monthly) |
| Legal status, Sep 2026 | UMG + Sony actively suing (new $9B v6 suit) |
| Trustpilot vs. App Store | 1.7/5 (179 reviews) vs. self-reported 4.9★ -- read both |
Suno the product keeps getting better. Suno the company keeps getting sued -- and now it's getting sued about the thing it just shipped to fix that.
"Give Suno a sentence and it hands back a finished song with a hook, a bridge, and vocals that -- on v5.5 and now v6 -- can genuinely fool a casual listener. That part of the pitch is real and it's why over 100 million people have used it. What's also real: Suno was sued in June 2024, alongside Udio, by the major labels for training on copyrighted recordings without permission. Since then it has done the responsible-looking thing twice over -- settling with Warner Music Group in November 2025 and signing BMG in August 2026, both licensing deals, both with real artist opt-in language. But two things undercut the redemption arc. First, reporting in July 2026 revealed Suno sat on a November 2025 data breach for eight months before disclosing it -- one that exposed 55+ million users' personal data and leaked source code confirming exactly what critics suspected: Suno had scraped YouTube Music, Deezer, Genius, and podcast audio at scale. Second, and much more recent: around September 18, 2026, Universal Music Group and Sony Music -- who never settled -- filed a new lawsuit specifically targeting v6, the licensed-sounding model Suno launched nine days earlier, alleging it was trained in part on outputs from the earlier, unlicensed models. Suno calls the suit 'fundamentally flawed' and says v6 used 'a new set of data trained from zero'; it has not said whether that data includes outputs from its older models."
None of that erases what the product does well: v6's three variants are a real, useful spread (polished, experimental, fast-free), Suno Studio 2.0 is a genuinely capable browser DAW for Premier users, and the free tier is honestly generous for casual use. It does mean the safest way to think about a Suno subscription in September 2026 is "great creative tool, unresolved legal risk" -- not resolved, not settled, still live in federal court.
One prompt box, one DAW, and -- as of September -- three v6 variants underneath.
Suno is a text-to-song AI generator: describe a genre, mood, or full lyric sheet, and it returns a complete track with structure, instrumentation, and sung vocals in roughly a minute. As of this check, the stack is: the core generator (now on v6/v6-wild/v6-mini), Suno Studio 2.0 (a browser-based DAW with MIDI, stems, and an AI chat bar, Premier-only), Voices (record your own voice and sing in any style, verified via a spoken-phrase challenge), Personas (save a song's vocal/style "essence" and reapply it), and web/iOS/Android apps. Suno is privately held, founded in Cambridge, MA in December 2022 by four former Kensho (S&P Global) engineers -- Mikey Shulman, Georg Kucsko, Martin Camacho, and Keenan Freyberg -- and has raised roughly $775M total, most recently a $400M round that valued the company at $5.4B.
The one thing worth flagging up front: "licensed" does not mean "cleared by everyone." Three of the world's four major-label groups now have some deal with Suno (Warner, BMG, and distributor Believe); Universal and Sony -- the two largest -- do not, and are the plaintiffs in an active, escalating federal case. More on exactly what that means for a paying user in Security & Control.
Real scale, real licensing wins, and a live legal fight that just got bigger, not smaller.
Company-disclosed cumulative creators, suno.com/about, Sep 2026.
Widely reported via industry roundups, dated Feb 2026 -- JAVIS could not independently verify against a primary Suno filing.
$400M round, reported by Variety, 2026 (exact month not independently pinned down by JAVIS).
UMG + Sony v. Suno, D. Mass., re: v6 "model laundering" -- reported via The Verge, Android Headlines, aggregated coverage.
| Date | Event | Result |
|---|---|---|
| Dec 2022 | Suno founded, Cambridge MA | By 4 ex-Kensho (S&P Global) engineers |
| Dec 20, 2023 | Public web launch | Includes a Microsoft Copilot plugin partnership |
| Jun 2024 | RIAA-coordinated lawsuit | UMG, Sony, Warner sue Suno (Boston) & Udio (NY) for training on copyrighted recordings; up to $150,000/work sought |
| Nov 2025 (disclosed Jul 2026) | Data breach | Supply-chain attack on employee credentials; 55M+ user records + source code exposed |
| Nov 25, 2025 | Warner Music Group settles + licenses | Suno also acquires Songkick (WMG's live-discovery platform) |
| Mar 26, 2026 | v5.5 launches | Voices, Custom Models, My Taste |
| Apr 2026 | UMG/Sony seek Warner deal terms in discovery | Magistrate judge denies; UMG/Sony formally object |
| Jun 2026 (reported) | $400M funding round | Valuation reported at $5.4B |
| Jul 15-22, 2026 | 2025 breach publicly disclosed | 404 Media/TechCrunch reveal scraped YouTube Music/Deezer/Genius data; breach confirmed to affect 55.3M+ people |
| Aug 12, 2026 | BMG licensing deal announced | Covers BMG + Concord repertoire; "prior use" approval for training |
| Aug 13, 2026 | Suno Studio 2.0 launches | MIDI, chat bar, advanced stems, Premier-only |
| Sep 2, 2026 | SOCAN (Canada) sues Suno | Alleges uncompensated use of Canadian repertoire |
| Sep 8, 2026 | Believe / TuneCore partnership | Distribution-side collaboration |
| Sep 9, 2026 | v6 / v6-wild / v6-mini launch | "Developed with" Warner, BMG, Believe |
| ~Sep 18, 2026 | UMG + Sony file second lawsuit | Targets v6 specifically; alleges "model laundering," ~60,202 recordings, ~$9B sought |
Two very different pictures, depending on whether you ask the App Store or the people who had a billing problem.
"Pretty much a scam. Worse AI company, no customer service, false advertising, misleading TOS" (1-star, Sep 4). A separate 2-star review: "Fun to play with music, but audio quality is very poor... you have to waste tons of credits." The most common complaint pattern: a newly added 20-song/month download cap on Pro that many subscribers say was applied retroactively to annual plans they'd already paid for, plus slow/unresponsive support on billing disputes.
Power users report "Persona regression" after a May 2026 update (saved vocal profiles reverting to generic defaults), ISRC self-upload blocking even on verified original tracks, and heavy Studio credit burn during pre-beta use -- summarized by one quoted user as "frankly they should be paying US to use it." JAVIS could not read Reddit directly; this pattern is sourced via a secondary write-up that quotes specific threads.
v5.5 is described as "the first model that consistently fools casual listeners on vocals," with natural vibrato and phrasing; against Udio specifically, reviewers give Suno the edge on vocals and Udio the edge on instrumental clarity. Remaining complaints: mispronunciation of technical vocabulary and garbled lyrics on dense verses.
Three tiers, one credit unit -- and every plan prices out to roughly the same 5 credits per song.
Free
50 credits/day (~10 songs/day).
- Free-tier models only (v4.5-all default)
- No commercial rights; no downloads; 8-min audio upload cap
Pro
$10/mo billed monthly. 2,500 credits/month (~500 songs).
- Commercial rights via permitted downloads only
- 20 song downloads/month; 2 stem-separation types
Premier
$30/mo billed monthly. 10,000 credits/month (~2,000 songs).
- Suno Studio 2.0 (MIDI, effects, automation)
- 60 downloads/month; up to 30-min audio upload
Free-tier and Pro/Premier ownership terms differ materially: on Free, Suno's own Terms of Service state outputs are for "lawful, personal and non-commercial purposes" only and users retain no ownership. On Pro/Premier, Suno assigns its rights in the output to you, but explicitly makes "no representation or warranty... that any copyright will vest in any Output." More in Security & Control.
Your answer depends on how much the active Universal/Sony lawsuit changes your risk tolerance.
Free tier -- 50 credits/day is genuinely enough to evaluate quality; just know it's personal-use only.
Pro, $8-10/mo -- but plan around the 20-download/month cap, not the 2,500-credit number.
Premier, $24-30/mo -- the only tier with Suno Studio 2.0 (MIDI, stems, automation).
Read Security & Control first -- UMG and Sony catalog exposure risk is real and unresolved as of Sep 2026.
Independent reviewers give Udio the edge here -- see Alternatives.
That control currently exists through Warner, BMG, or Believe/TuneCore -- not through Suno directly if your label hasn't signed.
Three model personalities, plus a real DAW once you outgrow "generate and hope."
Suno's September 9, 2026 release didn't ship one model -- it shipped three, each with a different job. v6 (Pro/Premier) is the reliable, polished option for genre-accurate output. v6-wild (Pro/Premier) intentionally produces more unexpected, textured results for people who want surprise over precision. v6-mini is available to everyone, including Free users, and is positioned as faster and more efficient than free-tier competitors. All three let you edit specific song sections with plain-language prompts, build mashups from multiple sources, and update individual lyric lines without regenerating the whole track. Suno's own blog post frames v6 as "developed with our industry partners, including Warner Music Group, BMG and Believe" -- language that's now central to the September lawsuit, since UMG and Sony argue that framing implies a licensing cleanliness the plaintiffs dispute.
| Model / tool | Who gets it | What it's for |
|---|---|---|
| v6 | Pro, Premier | Reliable, precise, polished music across genres |
| v6-wild | Pro, Premier | Exploratory, unexpected, more textured results |
| v6-mini | All users, incl. Free | Faster/cheaper; positioned against free-tier rivals |
| Suno Studio 2.0 | Premier only | Full DAW: MIDI, stems, automation, chat-bar editing |
| Voices | Pro, Premier | Sing in any style using your own verified voice |
Studio 2.0 (launched Aug 13, 2026) is the part that separates Suno from a "type a prompt, get an MP3" toy: MIDI import/recording with a wavetable synth, a chat bar that lets you ask for specific mix changes in plain language, factory effects (sidechain compression, convolution reverb), automation curves, and -- for Premier -- unlimited export of 32-bit/48kHz multitracks and stems. It's genuinely closer to a lightweight DAW than a generator add-on, which is also why it's Premier-exclusive.
"Suno v6 Is Here: Everything You Need to Know" -- published directly by Suno on its own YouTube channel the week of launch.
Published by the official "Suno Music" YouTube channel (youtube.com/@suno) -- matching the official YouTube link in suno.com's own site footer.
Prompt in, full song out in under a minute -- Studio is where the human review actually happens.
The credit mechanics matter more than the headline plan price: a failed or discarded generation still costs credits, and heavy back-and-forth editing inside Studio can burn well past the ~5-credits-per-song baseline. Budgeting by "credits per month" alone, without accounting for re-rolls, undercounts real cost.
The same generator, four surfaces -- plus a social layer most reviews skip.
Suno runs as a web app (suno.com), an iOS app, and an Android app, all sharing the same generation and credit system, plus the browser-only Suno Studio 2.0 for Premier subscribers. The mobile apps carry a social layer that's easy to miss if you only use the web player: public artist-style profiles with followers, remix counts, and a feed of tracks -- closer to a short-form social app than a plain generator, which is part of why Suno reports #1 music-app rankings in dozens of countries' app stores.
No developer API -- but a real distribution partnership for getting a track onto streaming.
Unlike most JAVIS-reviewed AI products, Suno has no official public developer API as of this check -- suno.com/enterprise and suno.com/api both resolve to the same consumer Free/Pro/Premier pricing page, with no mention of programmatic access, webhooks, or a business tier. Several unofficial third-party wrappers exist that reverse-engineer the consumer web app's endpoints; JAVIS is not recommending or evaluating those here, since using them is a Terms-of-Service risk you'd be taking on yourself, not something Suno supports. What Suno does have, announced September 8, 2026, is a distribution partnership with Believe and TuneCore -- aimed at helping creators get eligible tracks onto Spotify, Apple Music, and other DSPs, and at supporting a "healthy music ecosystem" as licensed models roll out.
If you're comparing Suno to a developer-first AI product expecting an SDK or REST API, recalibrate: this is a closed, consumer-first product where the "integration" story is stems/MIDI export plus a label-distribution partnership, not code.
Every tier prices out to roughly the same 5 credits per song -- the real variable is downloads, not generations.
| Plan | Credits/mo | Implied songs/mo | Downloads/mo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | 50/day (~1,500/mo) | ~300 | 0 (no commercial download) |
| Pro | 2,500 | ~500 | 20 |
| Premier | 10,000 | ~2,000 | 60 |
An undisclosed-for-8-months breach, a real voice-consent system, and fine print that puts copyright risk on you, not Suno.
| Control / finding | What's actually the case |
|---|---|
| Nov 2025 data breach | Supply-chain attack compromised an employee's credentials; source code + 55.3M+ user records (names, emails, phone numbers, addresses, partial card data via Stripe) exposed. Not disclosed to users until 404 Media/TechCrunch reported it Jul 2026 -- 8 months later. Suno called it "a limited security incident that was quickly contained" and did not dispute the affected-user count. |
| What the breach revealed about training data | Leaked source code showed datasets labeled for YouTube Music audio (~114,000 + ~152,000 hours across two sets), plus Deezer, Genius, stock libraries, and podcast RSS feeds -- now cited as evidence in the UMG/Sony litigation. |
| Voice cloning (Voices feature) | Real consent gate: ToS explicitly bars creating a Voice Model of anyone but yourself; a spoken-phrase verification step checks your live voice against the uploaded/sung sample before enabling it. Voices are private to your account by default. |
| Output ownership | Free tier: no ownership, personal/non-commercial use only. Pro/Premier: Suno assigns its rights in the output to you, but explicitly disclaims any warranty that copyright actually vests in AI-generated output. |
| Indemnification clause | Users agree to indemnify Suno against claims "arising out of or relating to your use of the Service, any Content, Voice Model or use thereof" -- meaning if a generated track resembles a UMG/Sony recording closely enough to draw a claim, contractual liability exposure sits with the user, not Suno. |
Two different kinds of "trust" are worth separating here. The Voices consent mechanism and the Free-vs-paid ownership terms are real, specific, and reasonably well-designed. The breach-disclosure timeline and the indemnification clause are the opposite of reassuring: an 8-month gap between a breach happening and users being told about it is a real governance failure, and a clause that routes copyright-resemblance risk onto the user rather than the platform is worth reading before you rely on Suno for anything you plan to monetize.
Best for casual creators and background-music use; riskiest for anyone whose brand can't absorb a copyright claim.
| Situation | Why Suno fits (or doesn't) | Likely plan |
|---|---|---|
| Hobbyist making songs for fun/social sharing | Free tier is genuinely generous; social/Persona layer adds real stickiness | Free |
| Content creator needing royalty-free-feeling background music | Commercial rights via Pro, but budget around the 20-download cap | Pro |
| Independent musician/producer who wants to finish tracks properly | Studio 2.0's MIDI/stems/automation is a real, capable DAW | Premier |
| Brand, label, or agency with real legal/reputational exposure | Active $9B UMG/Sony suit + user-side indemnification clause is a genuine risk to underwrite, not a formality | Consider waiting for resolution, or use only Warner/BMG-cleared catalog paths |
| Developer wanting to build a product around AI music generation | No official API exists -- this isn't a builder's tool today | Not a fit; see Alternatives |
Four real gaps, not manufactured ones.
A supply-chain attack in November 2025 exposed 55.3M+ user records and source code -- Suno didn't disclose it until outside reporting forced the issue in July 2026, and called it "quickly contained" without notifying affected users proactively.
Warner and BMG licensing don't cover Universal or Sony, the two largest majors, who filed a new ~$9B "model laundering" suit against v6 specifically around September 18, 2026 -- weeks, not years, before this review was checked.
Pro's 2,500 monthly credits sound generous until you notice only 20 of those songs can actually be downloaded/used commercially per month -- and Trustpilot's most common complaint is this cap being applied retroactively to already-paid annual plans.
Suno's Terms of Service put copyright-resemblance liability risk on the user via an indemnification clause, while separately disclaiming any warranty that copyright even vests in what you generate -- a materially user-unfavorable structure worth reading before commercial use.
Suno isn't the only text-to-song generator, and it isn't the only one navigating label licensing.
| If you mostly need... | Compare Suno with... |
|---|---|
| Cleaner instrumental/production clarity over vocal realism | Udio -- settled with UMG, shifted to a licensed model; independent reviewers rate its instrumentals above Suno's |
| A major-label-backed, opt-in artist remix platform (not a general generator) | ElevenLabs' UMG-backed music/remix platform -- a different model: proactive label consent from day one rather than litigation-then-licensing. JAVIS has not yet published a full ElevenLabs review (in production); no link provided until that review is live. |
| Voice cloning/dubbing as the primary use case, not song generation | ElevenLabs' core voice product -- a different product line from its music platform; also not yet reviewed by JAVIS |
| Building automated pipelines around AI-generated audio | n8n -- workflow automation that can orchestrate audio-generation steps end-to-end; see our n8n review |
| A general-purpose AI model instead of a specialized music generator | Claude -- for context on how a general model compares on originality/attribution questions; see our Claude review |
No affiliate relationship shapes this review.
JAVIS has not established a publisher affiliate program with Suno. Every CTA in this article points to the official product.
Go to the official page.
Open SunoRead the alternative that matches your real question.
Choose the next articleSuno is JAVIS's first AI-voice-and-music flagship -- here's what to read next depending on what actually matters to you.
This is a new category for JAVIS, so today's closest related reads are about the surrounding AI decision-making, not a direct music-generator rival yet -- more music/voice-specific comparisons (including ElevenLabs) are in production.
Questions people are actually searching right now
Is Suno free to use?
Yes. The Free plan gives 50 credits/day (roughly 10 songs), using free-tier models, for personal non-commercial use with no downloads. Paid plans start at Pro, $8/mo billed annually ($10/mo monthly) for 2,500 credits and 20 commercial downloads/month.
Is Suno legal / is Suno being sued?
It's actively contested. Suno was sued by UMG, Sony, and Warner in June 2024 for training on copyrighted recordings. Warner settled and licensed its catalog in November 2025; BMG signed a licensing deal in August 2026. Universal Music Group and Sony Music never settled and filed a new lawsuit around September 18, 2026 specifically targeting the v6 model, seeking roughly $9 billion in damages.
What is Suno v6?
Launched September 9, 2026, v6 is actually three models: v6 (polished, reliable), v6-wild (exploratory, unexpected results), and v6-mini (fast, available to all users including Free). Suno says all three were "developed with" label partners Warner, BMG, and Believe.
Did Suno have a data breach?
Yes. A supply-chain attack in November 2025 compromised an employee's credentials, exposing source code and more than 55 million users' personal data. Suno did not disclose this to users; it only became public in July 2026 after 404 Media and TechCrunch reported it.
Do I own the songs I make on Suno?
On the Free plan, no -- outputs are for personal, non-commercial use only. On Pro/Premier, Suno assigns its rights in the output to you, but its Terms of Service explicitly do not guarantee that copyright actually vests in AI-generated output, and you agree to indemnify Suno against related claims.
What is Suno Studio?
Suno Studio 2.0 (launched August 2026, Premier-only) is a browser-based DAW: MIDI import/recording with a wavetable synth, stem separation, effects and automation, and a chat bar for plain-language mix requests.
Does Suno have an API?
Not officially, as of this check. suno.com/enterprise and suno.com/api both redirect to the same consumer pricing page. Unofficial third-party wrappers exist but are unsupported and carry Terms-of-Service risk.
How does Suno compare to Udio?
Independent reviewers consistently give Suno the edge on vocal realism (especially since v5.5/v6) and Udio the edge on instrumental clarity. Udio settled with Universal Music Group and has shifted toward a licensed model; Suno's Universal/Sony relationship remains adversarial.
Where this came from, and when it was checked.
Pricing (Free/Pro/Premier, credits, downloads, upload limits): suno.com/pricing, cross-checked against independent 2026 pricing roundups (eesel.ai, costbench.com, comparedge.com), Sep 29, 2026.
v6/v6-wild/v6-mini launch details, Studio 2.0, Voices, Personas, My Taste: blog.suno.com/blog/introducing-v6, /blog/studio-2, /blog/v5-5, /blog/personas -- official Suno blog, checked Sep 29, 2026.
Company facts (founding, founders, funding, headcount): suno.com/about, official, checked Sep 29, 2026; founding date/founders cross-checked against en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suno_AI.
June 2024 original RIAA lawsuit: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Suno_AI, cross-referencing RIAA's own case announcement language, Sep 2026.
Warner Music Group settlement/licensing deal (Nov 25, 2025): musicbusinessworldwide.com and blog.suno.com/blog/wmg-partnership, official WMG CEO quote, checked Sep 2026.
UMG/Sony ongoing litigation, discovery dispute over Warner deal terms: digitalmusicnews.com (Apr 24, 2026 and Jul 16, 2026 coverage), checked Sep 2026.
BMG licensing deal (Aug 12, 2026): digitalmusicnews.com/2026/08/12/suno-bmg-deal, official Suno/BMG blog post, checked Sep 2026.
Believe/TuneCore partnership (Sep 8, 2026): blog.suno.com/blog/believe-partnership, official, checked Sep 2026.
September 2026 second UMG/Sony lawsuit (v6, "model laundering," ~$9B, ~60,202 recordings): Reported via The Verge ("Sony and UMG are suing Suno again") and Android Headlines/MSN, corroborated via aggregated Bing News search results and a secondary translated summary (inside.com.tw). JAVIS could not read The Verge, Billboard, or the primary court complaint (paywalled or not available at check time) -- this is disclosed as a lower-confidence, aggregation-sourced claim on the exact date/figures, though the core fact (a new lawsuit was filed over v6) is corroborated across 3+ independent outlets.
SOCAN Canada lawsuit (Sep 2, 2026): aggregated via Bing News search summary, Sep 2026 -- not independently cross-checked against a primary SOCAN statement.
November 2025 data breach, disclosed Jul 2026: techcrunch.com/2026/07/15/hack-suggests-ai-music-generator-suno-scraped-youtube-for-training-data, digitalmusicnews.com/2026/07/22/suno-hack-exposed-personal-info, both read directly Sep 2026; user-count corroborated via Have I Been Pwned reporting cited in the DMN piece.
Funding ($775M total; $400M round at $5.4B valuation): suno.com/about (official, total raised) and a Variety headline ("AI Music Company Suno Raises $400 Million at $5.4 Billion Valuation") surfaced via Bing News aggregation -- the full Variety article was paywalled at check time, so the exact announcement date is not independently pinned down; disclosed as a lower-confidence secondary source on that specific point.
User sentiment -- Trustpilot: trustpilot.com/review/suno.com, read directly, 1.7/5 from 179 reviews, Sep 2026.
User sentiment -- Reddit/community patterns: reddit.com/r/SunoAI could not be read directly; sourced via eesel.ai's Suno review, which quotes specific r/SunoAI threads by theme (persona regression, ISRC blocking, Studio credit burn) -- disclosed as a secondary/aggregated source.
App Store / Google Play ratings (4.9★/4.8★): self-reported by Suno on suno.com's own homepage; direct App Store and Play Store checks did not return usable data at check time, so these figures are disclosed as company-reported, not independently re-verified by JAVIS.
Terms of Service (ownership, indemnification, Voices consent, DMCA): suno.com/terms, official, read directly, Sep 29, 2026.
Official video: youtube.com/watch?v=_lHvWn2SNC4, authorship confirmed on YouTube (author "Suno Music", channel youtube.com/@suno, matching the official link in suno.com's site footer).
